Questions about cannabis in California?
Everyone 21 years of age and older can legally consume cannabis in California, thanks to Prop 64, which went into effect on January 1, 2018. You don’t need to be a California resident to partake. Visitors are also welcome to shop, indulge and enjoy.
Adults 18 to 21 years old can also legally consume cannabis if they have a physician’s recommendation (from California or out-of-state) or a state of California medicinal marijuana ID card.
The state of California and local cities place numerous taxes on legal cannabis. We build part of this tax into our prices to avoid sticker shock at our locations.
Here is a breakdown of current cannabis taxes
Recreational (adult-use) customers:
- State excise tax for cannabis: 15%
- State sales tax: 9.5% (in West Hollywood and Los Angeles)
- City cannabis sales tax: 7.5% in West Hollywood; 10% in Los Angeles
Patients with a medical marijuana ID card (MMIC) or doctor’s recommendation save on some of the taxes above. This is a little confusing. Here are the details:
- All patients pay state excise tax (15%).
- Patients with a MMIC do not pay state sales tax (9.5%)
- Patients with a doctor’s recommendation (but no MMIC) pay state sales tax (9.5%).
- Depending on the city, medical patients may pay a reduced or no city cannabis sales tax
- In West Hollywood, all medical patients pay NO city sales tax (7.5%)
- In LA, all medical patients pay 5% cannabis tax instead of 10%
Yes. All customers at the Artist Tree are required to show a government issued photo I.D., like a driver’s license or passport, to verify their age.
An individual can purchase 1 ounce (about 28.5 grams) of flower a day and up to 8 grams of concentrates and manufactured products (including edibles, oils, extracts and other products) a day.
The prices for cannabis flower and other products vary by location, quantity and product.
At The Artist Tree you can purchase a gram of flower starting at $5, a 1 gram pre-roll starting at $7, and an eighth of flower starting at $25.
We also carry a range of concentrates, edibles, vapes, CBD products, pre-rolls, THC-infused beverages, topicals, pet products, accessories and other products. Prices vary.
All items are subject to state and local cannabis taxes.
California state law prohibits cannabis smoking in public and in publicly owned buildings or land. You are legally allowed to smoke on private property (subject to any rules or restrictions set forth by your landlord).
In addition, you can smoke at licensed cannabis consumption lounges, such as The Artist Tree’s upcoming restaurant and lounge. Our restaurant and lounge is scheduled to open in early 2021.
Currently, onsite consumption is not allowed at the Artist Tree retail store.
This is where things get a little sticky (and not in a good way). While smoking cannabis is legal for anyone 21 years of age and older (or 18 and older for medical patients), it’s still illegal to smoke, use, eat or vape cannabis in public.
Public properties in California are off limits for cannabis consumption unless they have a special cannabis consumption license (like us!).
It is illegal to consume cannabis within 1,000 feet of a school, day care center or youth center while children are present. It is also unlawful to smoke cannabis in places where it is illegal to smoke tobacco.
Cannabis may be consumed in a private residence, unless otherwise prohibited by law. Property owners may ban the use and possession of cannabis on their privately-owned properties.
California is one of 13 states where cannabis is legal for recreational use. It’s also legal in the following states: